A-  A A+

Bharatanatyam; Five Jaathis:

The epic Natyashastra, a text of 36 chapters, has set ground rules for dance, drama and music ensuring their academic and spiritual significance in the Indian cultural history. This text serves as the foundation of all performing arts in India; apart from this, there are different books for particular dance forms. All dances function within a grammar, but we can always create with the grammar. Creativity in dance form is produced while playing with the five rhythms namely the Trishram(three counts), Chatushram(four counts), Khandam(five counts), Mishram(seven counts) and Sankeernam(nine counts). These are the five jaathis (variants) for performing arts as stated in the Natyashastra. The video throws light on "creativity within classicism."
More Info
License:[Source CIET, NCERT ]Feb. 20, 2017, 11:43 a.m.

New comment(s) added. Please refresh to see.
Refresh ×